Linux - Runlevels init command, Init levels or run levels

Runlevels init command

init command - Linux Run Levels

The Linux OS runs various daemons or services. It is necessary to understand the different daemons and particularly the RunLevels befor start learning the linux.

You can specify or change the runlevels in vi /etc/inittab.
before getting deep into let's see only the basic of runlevel or init level.

Init Level

0 Runlevel 0 is reserved for the "shutdown" or power off the machine.

1 Runlevel 1 is usually for very basic commands. This is the equivalent to "safe mode" used by Windows. This level is usually only used to asses repairs or maintenance to the system. This is a single-user mode and does not allow other users to login to the machine.

2 Runlevel 2 is used to start most of the machines services. However, it does not start the network file sharing service (SMB, NFS). This will allows multiple users to login to the machine.

3 Runlevel 3 is commonly used by servers. This loads all services except the X windows system. This means the system will boot to the equivalent of DOS. No GUIs (KDE, Gnome) will start. This level allows multiple users to login to the machine.

4 Runlevel 4 is usually a "custom" level. By default it will start a few more services than level 3. This level is usually only used under special circumstances.

5 Runlevel 5 is everything! This will start any GUIs, extra services for printing, and 3rd party services. Full multi-users support also. This runlevel is generally used on by workstations.

6 Runlevel 6 is reserved for "reboot" only. Be carefully when running this command. Once you have entered init 6, there is no stopping it. Never try to run this command.

The topic on Linux - Runlevels init command is posted by - Venki

Hope you have enjoyed, Linux - Runlevels init commandThanks for your time

Tech Bluff